RGM-79 (Ground Type) from RX-78 Gundam (Ground Type)

Discuss models, figures, Blu-rays and more.
nortran11

RGM-79 (Ground Type) from RX-78 Gundam (Ground Type)

Hey Gundpla builders!

I have a thing for the mecha from 08th MS Team, and as a HG builder I have few options for the Federated forces so I am thinking of scratch building/kit bashing.

I have the Ez8 and a Rx-78 Ground Type from the Ground War set. I would love to add a GM and maybe even a Sniper, but aside from the horrible older "HG" kits, none exist. I have got my hands on a couple extra Ground War boxes.

I was looking at some line art of the GM and the lower half of the mecha looks to be the same as the RX-78, even the same waist unit. The arms are the same....the biggest difference seems to be in the head (obviously) and the torso. I've got a few GM heads from the Ground War boxes. Unless I am missing something, the torso just looks like I need remove the vulcan and multi launcher from the chest and add a matching vent and sculpt a new backpack

Anything you all can think I am missing?
SpideyWing

Re: RGM-79 (Ground Type) from RX-78 Gundam (Ground Type)

So, from what I am reading, you want to take a HGUC Gundam Ground Type, and with some parts from the older HG GM Ground Type kit, turn it into a HGUC GM Ground Type?

With that idea in mind, I looked over the instruction manuals (and lineart of the suits) and took note of the things that are changed between the GM Ground Type and the Gundam Ground Type: The front skirt armor, the torso, the head, and the backpack.

The head, being that it just connects with a polycap ball joint, looks to be the simplest part. Just plug the GM GT's head straight on without any alterations, and you'd be done.

The torso and backpack are a different matter, though. My best suggestion would be to remove the vulcan and multi-launcher like you noted, but you should be able to just cut the pegs off the GM GT's backpack and glue it onto the Gundam.