Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Discussion » General Discussion




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

What piece of tech do YOU use to post on MT?
I use my uber swiss army cell phone! 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
MAC FTW! 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
I draw my posts, with a tablet.. 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
I draw them too, but with my trusty sidekick, PDA THING! 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
I do my posting from the comfort of my easy chair, with a laptop! 13%  13%  [ 6 ]
I steal time on the Library PCs..slow pieces of junk... 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
I use my trusty home desktop PC 85%  85%  [ 39 ]
Total votes : 46
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:43 pm 
Offline
Yoko's Bosom Buddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 2294
Location: In the cockpit..
Alright, I haven't seen one of these threads on mechatalk since it's restart on this phpBB format, and was curious about this question, so how do you guys do it?

How do you guys post on mecha talk?

Do you use a Cell phone?

A PDA?

A Desktop?

A Laptop?

A Tablet PC?

A MAC?

Well, let the world know what medium you users out there use to communicate with the world of Mechatalk!

And please, no flame wars or format fanboyism here or I will notify the Mods if they don't catch it before I do.

_________________
TRANS AM!
Yes, it's a V8.
Yes, it was a Trans Am before there was "TRANS AM."
Yes, it's mine. 8)


Last edited by The Big Zabowski on Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:52 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:47 pm 
Offline
Traitor Villain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:06 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: 미합중국 버지니아주 페어팩스군
I normally post from my home desktop, yet such an option is oddly absent from the poll... :/

_________________
RPG TRINARY: Gaia
Die Anti-brutale Kraft: Cardi Doorl


Make sure to check out the RPG section - We're about to start a new VOTOMS RPG!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:49 pm 
Offline
Mysterious Masked Dude
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 554
I usually post from my home Windows XP, but sometimes, I go down to my school lib and sneak a peek at Mecha Talk. My lib computers are not slow pieces of junk, believe me.

_________________
"That's the problem with plutonium, Craven; it's limited in its application. It's not user-friendly. But as a vehicle for regaining one's self-respect; oh, it's got a lot going for it!"
- Darius Jedburgh, Edge of Darkness, Episode 6, Fusion


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:50 pm 
Offline
Yoko's Bosom Buddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 2294
Location: In the cockpit..
OH for the love of..-_- Curse you Mike Rowe and your tire crushing ways..

Fixed.

I thought I had it on there too.. :cry:

_________________
TRANS AM!
Yes, it's a V8.
Yes, it was a Trans Am before there was "TRANS AM."
Yes, it's mine. 8)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:51 pm 
Offline
OMG Doomsday Laser
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:38 pm
Posts: 1368
Location: The "No Colony Drop" Zone
Home computer.
Which is a Windows comp and I use Firefox.

In other words, the oddly absent "home computer" option or the equally absent "other" option....

_________________
ShadowCell wrote:
"Can you escape the Hambrabi...AND THE GREAT CORNHOLIO?!"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:51 pm 
Offline
Traitor Villain
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:59 pm
Posts: 5905
Location: California
I post using my mind.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:53 pm 
Offline
Yoko's Bosom Buddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 2294
Location: In the cockpit..
Yes, I am working on that..and the poll thing is acting up for me...

EDIT: I think I ran out of options..and I can't fix/delete any either. -_-

_________________
TRANS AM!
Yes, it's a V8.
Yes, it was a Trans Am before there was "TRANS AM."
Yes, it's mine. 8)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:54 pm 
Offline
Hot-blooded Gattai
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 8045
Location: Detroit, MI
ShadowCell wrote:
I post using my mind.

Well that explains a few things. Liar!

Me, I also use my personal desktop PC useing XP and IE. Hasn't failed me yet.

_________________
The Gundam wiki

"Reality makes a crappy special effects crew." - Adam Savage


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:12 pm 
Offline
War-ending Idol Singer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:49 pm
Posts: 2134
Location: USA
oh well 1st i scripple what i want to say on a piece of paper, i put it in an envolope, that gets mailed away to malaysia. there, a small malasian boy takes it to the governments HQ. they then tie the note to a small gull of some sorts, preferably a seagull. the seagull flies across the space and time continuum where is lands in the planet "Gafagaglowfulzor" and alien takes the note and kills the gull for secrecy. he then telepathically takes over the mind of a 87 year old man in from the present time and forces the man to go to a library to type it on the forum



i use a sony viao, good story though

_________________
mcred23 wrote:
Well... it's official: O'Regan is the next Hitler.

WhiteWingDemon wrote:
Not to start anything, seeing as that is O'Regan's job...

ShadowCell wrote:
O'Regan, quit hitting on other users.

Orrick Alexander wrote:
Did anyone know that O'Regan is the reason there's no air in space?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:18 pm 
Offline
Newtype Emo Guy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:18 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Bostonia, Inglessa
The Big Zabowski wrote:
Alright, I haven't seen one of these threads on mechatalk since it's restart on this phpBB format, and was curious about this question, so how do you guys do it?

How do you guys post on mecha talk?

Do you use a Cell phone?

A PDA?


Yes, and yes. These days, what's the difference?

_________________
---GEC
It will be mine. Oh yes, it will be mine.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:22 pm 
Offline
Yoko's Bosom Buddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 2294
Location: In the cockpit..
You'd be surprised that some people still think there is a difference, and because of that, I put them as seperate entities to avoid things like the earlier "Wheres the Desktop" thing...

Though, I could just put "Though wireless hotspots" and knock out most of them..

-_-

This thread keeps getting more sour every minute..which may be why there never was one in the first place..

_________________
TRANS AM!
Yes, it's a V8.
Yes, it was a Trans Am before there was "TRANS AM."
Yes, it's mine. 8)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:47 pm 
Offline
OMG Doomsday Laser
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:20 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: Chernarus
I use my home computer. I had no idea you could use things like cell phones or PDAs.

_________________
Mechwarrior Living Legends: A Crysis Wars total conversion mod. Now with Masakari Clan Assualt mech, Solitaire Clan Light mech, Chimera Inner sphere medium mech, and Ares clan medium tank.

You can now play without having to purchase Crysis Wars, see here for more details.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:14 pm 
Offline
Creepy Bishonen
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:26 pm
Posts: 249
I once got onto MechaTalk with a PSP, but gave up due to the horrific text entry. It's like trying to post a message using only the telephone number buttons.

_________________
gp=pc----c>--- %%
__|______|_____|_______
bazooka | shell | explosion


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
Mysterious Masked Dude
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:31 pm
Posts: 533
Location: Audubon, PA
I actually make a lot of my posts from school, but otherwise I use my home desktop.

_________________
A strong man doesn't need to read the future, he makes his own.


Last edited by solid snake on Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:35 pm 
Offline
OMG Doomsday Laser
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 9:28 pm
Posts: 1384
Location: Makkai, Gensokyo
Well, I acess Mechatalk with my laptop and two of my desktops. On my laptop and desktop #1: Internet Explorer. For desktop #2: Firefox. (wish I could acess it with my mind... :cry: )

I'll just vote for laptop 'cause I use that the most

edit: nice story ORegan

_________________
Warning: When using Minovsky Particles, please do not drive or operate heavy machinery. If you have a Newtype Flash lasting longer than 6 hours, please call 911 as this may be a sign of a serious and life threatening side-effect. Ask your doctor if taking Minovsky Particles are right for you.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 7:53 pm 
Offline
Traitor Villain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:32 am
Posts: 3147
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
I'm posting from my laptop with, WOO WOO!: IE-SIZEVEN!

_________________
TftF Wiki
TftF One Shots
RPG Trinary: Ortega
Die Anti-brutale Kraft: Fritz Ashlyn

Hey! why don't you swing on down to the RPG section? Tales from the Frontlines: The AEUG running strong since 2006!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:15 pm 
Offline
AEUG Slapping Boy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 127
Most of time i use the XP/FF combo at home but sometimes i use the ultra-slow one at my school's library -_-


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 8:45 pm 
Offline
Mod of Bling, Yo
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:42 am
Posts: 3621
I usually get on with my good ole` Windows 98+IE combo, but that just died like a month ago (8 years... 8 long years and the thing finally gave out... :(). Now, I'm sneaking on using my parent's Windows XP and IE, and anxiously awaiting a new computer.

At school, we're not allowed to go on the computers during class. But since my Archetecture class requires computer use in class, I sneak online and check up on stuff from that XP workshop computer. Funny thing is, the connection is alot faster than when I'm at home using the now-dead 98... :D

_________________
ShadowCell wrote:
"Poor fool, ShadowCell!" you say. "You can't win against fandom stupidity with the Power of the Mod!"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:39 pm 
Offline
Yoko's Bosom Buddy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:07 pm
Posts: 2294
Location: In the cockpit..
PDA access, well I guess I can chalk up my experiences with that (which seem to be limited around here) to the status of Western Michigan as having the most reliable wireless connection for a university EVAR!(according to the OIT guys at least.) I mean, the entire campus is a hotspot, from the 6th floor of the valley dorms that have about 500 feet of tree cover PLUS over 1000 more feet separating them from main campus, to the basement/fallout shelter of the science hall at the heart of main campus...

Funny thing though, is the fact that all campus computers outside of the library, and maybe the library itself have T-1 lines for internet.

Talk about GTFO..

Though, I will agree that accessing the internet using a PDA/Cellphone/Blackberry is a pain for now, as the afore mentioned text entry issues that plague such small devices can only be alleviated by tacking on a pocket keyboard..which are expensivo!

But, I love my Dell Optiplex GX 280. Thing cost me a grand + with a CD/DVD burner drive, XP Professional, a Scanner/printer copier combo unit that was FREE (But craped out in a year and was replaced again with a higher quality and more compact/capable one for FREE), and copies of practically every Microsoft office app (including Publisher and Access) and what is now a standard flatscreen LCD screen that was actually a free upgrade <_<.

Oh, and I don't know about anyone else's Dells, but mine is damn near impervious to spyware lag and with Symantech anti virus actually can keep chugging at a good pace while I wipe out any virus trying to take advantage of my comp.

Damn thing's a TANK! Now all I have to do is repaint the black plastic a camouflage color...maybe something panzer inspired ^^

Oh, and adding hardware is easy, as I only have to press two buttons to pop open the case. I can't believe I had to pay 100 in labor to get a wireless card installed when I could have done it myself in five seconds..-_-

Anywho, I love my comp and it hates me. ^^

_________________
TRANS AM!
Yes, it's a V8.
Yes, it was a Trans Am before there was "TRANS AM."
Yes, it's mine. 8)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:46 pm 
Offline
Elitist Earth Politician
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:23 pm
Posts: 600
I often use my hands and sometimes my pc too.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » Discussion » General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron