Best way to learn Japanese?

Topics not covered in other forums. NO POLITICS OR RELIGION.
HellCat

Best way to learn Japanese?

It's been an aspiration for over a decade now but I'd like to learn written and oral Japanese. It didn't become an available option in UK schools until after I graduated, which leaves independent further education my only option. Given a fair few people here are fluent for various reasons, I wondered what they considered the best means to learn it? I've seen some people suggest Rosetta Stone and recently I stumbled across this- https://www.erin.ne.jp/en/

Generally my interest is to learn for the sake of hobby/entertainment stuff but the more fluent the better. I've heard the horror stories of people who pick up the language wrong from too many cartoons and comics.
Gundam AGEs Forum- Three destinies will form discussion.
Even a broken clock is right twice a day.
ShadowCell

Re: Best way to learn Japanese?

moved to General. carry on.
harotype

You didn't say whether you were bound and determined to learn self-directed, so...

I'm not even remotely fluent, but what I do know, I picked up at "intensive summer university course", where they covered a year of instruction in ten weeks by way of 40 hours in the classroom every week. :twisted:

It melts your brain and hurts your head, but you DO learn. And you do learn correctly.
(And this was about a decade ago, and yes, I decided to learn in hopes of understanding anime better. And what I do remember, I remember thanks to anime, manga, and reading Japanese websites.)

So if the finances and facilities are at all an option for you to do something like that, I'll give it my props.

There really is no substitute for classroom exercises, other people to converse with, and teachers kicking your posterior.
"Idealists stay away from war and politics!!"
Quiddity