Gravity

The future is now. This is the place for mecha and science.

Moderators: ShadowCell, Heretic, mcred23, EZero8, Draco Starcloud, SNT1, Kenji

User avatar
Wingnut
Hot-blooded Gattai
Posts: 6866
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Post by Wingnut » Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:52 pm

marito yuy wrote:Isnt gravity also created by an objects mass. The bigger the colony the more gravity.
That may be true, however even the biggest colonies have negligible gravitational pulls of their own it would be impossible for a person to notice there being gravity on a colony that wasn't spinning to create gravity inside it. If the colony did generate its own gravitational field, then we wouldn't see people working on the outside with tethers to their suits.
The Gundam wiki

"Reality makes a crappy special effects crew." - Adam Savage

R.I.P., SDGO.

User avatar
Red XIV
Mysterious Masked Dude
Posts: 481
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:02 pm

Post by Red XIV » Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:44 pm

Yep, since colonies are too small to produce a useful amount of gravity, they spin to simulate the effect of gravity.

toysdream
Master of Mecha
Posts: 3250
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by toysdream » Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:54 pm

Not to mention that, no matter how massive a colony is, it won't produce much gravity inside the colony because all the mass is around you and pulling you in different outward directions. I recall that, mathematically speaking, the gravitational forces inside a perfect hollow sphere cancel each other out and leave you with zero gravity at any point within the sphere's interior. (So much for all those "hollow Earth" fantasy epics.) A space colony isn't a perfect sphere, but it'll still have the same problem, so spinning it is your only real option.

-- Mark

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests